Getting Personal

Daniil Zhukov, head of the Executive Assessment practice at Ward Howell, talks about the use of psychometric tests and surveys in assessing top managers. 

If you have had an opportunity to participate in discussions about executive assessment, you should have noticed that there are certain topics for which opinions vary drastically between people and companies. One such area is the use of psychometric tests and surveys. Some indiscriminately reject them outright, and others are fanatically committed to them. We should understand what truly goes on in this area and how it applies to the assessment of top managers.

Personality assessments have already been widely used in business for over 40 years. Hundreds of players on the market use them nowadays. But how accurately do these assessments predict the leadership potential and effective management skills of senior managers? In the last 40 years, have there been any significant breakthroughs in research, developments in fundamentally new approaches, or, even more interesting, irrefutable evidence supporting the use of personality assessments in evaluating top managers?

On the one hand, yes. We have reached a certain consensus on the “big five” personality traits – extroversion, agreeableness (flexibility, friendliness, amicability), conscientiousness (integrity), neuroticism (at the opposite end of the spectrum – emotional stability), openness to experience (intellect) – as the main elements of personality structure. This discovery was the powerful impetus behind research into the correlation between personality traits and leadership potential. The first set of data was sufficiently encouraging: the “big five” demonstrated a combined validity of 0.39: (1) openness to experience and conscientiousness (integrity) were identified as indicators of task-oriented efficiency, (2) emotional stability, extroversion and agreeableness showed interpersonal effectiveness to be a component of leadership.

On the other hand, criticism that cites the declining validity of personality tests for assessing executives is not unfounded. In comparison, for example, with the results of conventional tests of ability, it’s doubtful that a personality test adds much value (3). The main argument of critics is that there is a sizeable difference between stating that personality impacts the behavior, style, and effectiveness of leadership (a statement with which it is difficult to argue) and being confident that personality profiles built from self-evaluation are in fact able to predict leadership effectiveness. It’s impossible to deny the possibility that the profile of your best top manager could be exactly the same as that of your average second grader.

It’s not so simple

These facts point to several limitations inherent to personality assessment tools such as questionnaires.

The number one problem is that intelligent candidates use their intelligence and intuition to select the specific characteristics that they know are relevant to their concrete situation (4). We are not talking about recent graduates, but about experienced managers who thoroughly understand what works in one business or another. Vulnerability to false answers has always been the Achilles’ heel of personality questionnaires. There is plenty of evidence to show that a significant portion of respondents give the “right” answers when filling out questionnaires (5). But even if socially desirable answers don’t critically impact the validity of such questionnaires, they do call into question the effectiveness of the selection process. It seems that the candidates who answer questions honestly are at a disadvantage compared with those who are willing to manipulate the truth.

As for the scales of coherence and social desirability, they are intended to show the coherence (consistency) of respondents’ answers and, in theory, protect against manipulation by respondents. But do these measures work? According to the developers themselves, “high marks on the ‘social desirability’ scale should arouse suspicion” (6), but there are several factors, alongside attempts to manipulate the results, that can affect the results of this scale: self-criticism/analyticity, self-esteem, level of conformity, motivation for filling out the questionnaire, clear wording, etc. So this doesn’t provide any precise guarantees.

There is another factor worth considering: time. Most of the methodologies used today (15FQ, 16PF, Dimensions, DISC, Hogan, NEO, OPQ, PAPI and so on) that are, to varying degrees, derived from the “Big Five,” rely on theories and knowledge about leadership from the 70s and 80s. Do you think our understanding of leadership has changed significantly since then? How significantly have the requirements for leaders and businesses changed? The answers to these questions are obvious.

What to do

The goal of this article is not to encourage the abandonment of psychometric assessment. For a certain employee level, a psychometric assessment is the optimal method in terms of “price – quality – speed.” Furthermore, a massive staff assessment (particularly of those in entry-level positions) that can help with early identification of those that are predisposed to one or another type of behavior can be extremely useful. The natural limitations of validity may not be that critical in a large assessment. The fascination with psychometric tools for executive leaders could come with a significant margin of error, which makes it necessary to confirm results with other, more valid and costly methods of research.

The future of psychometric assessment of top managers is not in simplifying and standardizing, but in measuring dynamic traits and their influence on the creation, rise, and decline of leadership. To do that, there are two simple things to note:  

1) Any kind of personality can become a leader. This can be confirmed by analyzing examples of successful leaders over the last three decades. They include shy introverts, hyper-anxious workaholics, and even sociopaths. It’s hard to imagine how a personality questionnaire would help find the next Bill Gates (Microsoft), Elon Musk (Tesla) or Al Dunlap (Sunbeam).

2) Different personalities will be effective leaders in different contexts. It’s not possible to put together a single (global) index or portrait of a leader, the same way it is impossible to standardize the leadership-related tasks, business strategies or organizational contexts that leaders will face. Sufficient abilities, agreeableness and conscientiousness will only speak to a person’s integration into a corporate environment, but it cannot predict a person’s effectiveness as a leader in any particular scenario.

Where to start

These are some simple recommendations for those who are looking to use personality questionnaires to assess executives:

  • · Start with the results, and then slowly move toward the assessment. Of course you can fire an arrow and then figure out where it lands. But that’s not how you learn to shoot. When you know precisely what you’re aiming for, your accuracy increases. That’s why it’s important to very clearly define the goals of the assessment and how they relate to the questions to which you seek answers (hiring, replacement, promotion, training, etc.). It’s good to analyze which indicators will be more important for particular leadership-related scenarios in your organization.
  • · Demand as many specifics as possible. Don’t be distracted by universal models and global surveys. Ask specific questions, learn about concrete traits that are important for your evaluation, and choose the tools that are most appropriate for the tasks at hand. Be critical about your choice.
  • · Integrate the results properly. Gathering information isn’t difficult. But integrating data from different sources is not so simple. The accuracy of assessments significantly increases why you fully understand the limitations of each assessment method. In order to see this, it’s important to look not just at the final tally, but at each point and the essence of the assessment.  
  • · In future articles, we’ll talk about other tools for evaluating leaders: business simulations, assessment centers and interviews.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me via email: d.zhukov@wardhowell.com.

References:

1. Judge, T. et al. “Personality and Leadership: a Quantitative and Qualitative Review.” Journal of Applied Psychology, 2002.  

2. http://www.people.vcu.edu/~mamcdani/Publications/Kepes,%20McDaniel%20&%20Banks%20(2011,%20April).pdf.

3. Schmidt, F. et al. “Implications for the role of personality and general mental ability in job and training performance.” Personnel Psychology, 2008.

4. http://www.amazureconsulting.com/new-thinking/articles/.

5. Rosse, J. “The impact of response distortion on preemployment personality testing and hiring decisions.” Journal of Applied Psychology, 1998.

6. Description of OPQ32 scale, SHL Group LTD.

Перейдем на личности?

Руководитель практики "Оценка руководителей" Ward Howell Даниил Жуков - об использовании психометрических тестов и опросников в контексте оценки топ-менеджеров.

Если вам доводилось участвовать в обсуждениях оценки руководителей высшего звена, вы, должно быть, заметили, что в этом вопросе существуют темы, мнения относительно которых чрезвычайно расходятся у разных людей и в различных компаниях. Одной из таких тем, безусловно, является использование психометрических тестов и опросников. Кто-то радикально не приемлет их, а кто-то, напротив, им романтично привержен. Давайте вместе попробуем разобраться, что на самом деле происходит в этой области и как с этим всем быть в контексте оценки топ-менеджеров.

Методики оценки характеристик личности широко используются в бизнесе уже более 40 лет. На сегодняшний день количество игроков на этом рынке исчисляется сотнями. Но насколько точно эти методики предсказывают лидерский потенциал и эффективность руководителя высшего звена? Произошли ли за эти 40 лет какие-либо существенные прорывы в исследованиях, разработаны ли принципиально новые подходы и, что еще интереснее, найдены ли неопровержимые доказательства в поддержку оценки личностных характеристик в контексте оценки топов?

С одной стороны, да. Достигнут определенный консенсус относительно «большой пятерки» характеристик личности – экстраверсия, доброжелательность (уступчивость, дружелюбие, согласие), добросовестность (сознательность), невротизм (противоположный полюс – эмоциональная стабильность), открытость опыту (интеллект) – как основных элементов структуры личности. Это открытие, собственно, и дало мощный импульс исследованиям в поиске корреляции между характеристиками личности и лидерским потенциалом. Первые данные были достаточно обнадеживающими: «большая пятерка» демонстрировала объединенную валидность на уровне 0,39 (1), открытость опыту и добросовестность (сознательность) были определены как предикторы задачно-ориентированной эффективности (2), а эмоциональная стабильность, экстраверсия и доброжелательность указывали на межличностную эффективность как составляющую лидерства.

С другой стороны, критика в адрес снижающейся валидности личностных опросников для оценки руководителей небезосновательна. При сопоставлении, например, с результатами обычных тестов способностей добавочная ценность личностной оценки видится достаточно сомнительной(3). Основным же аргументом критиков является то, что существует огромная разница между утверждением, что личность влияет на поведение, стиль и лидерскую эффективность (с чем сложно спорить), и уверенностью в том, что личностные профили, составленные на основе самоотчета, на самом деле способны предсказать лидерскую эффективность. Невозможно отрицать вероятность того, что профиль вашего лучшего топ-менеджера может полностью совпадать с профилем ничем не примечательного второкурсника.

Не так просто

Эти факты указывают на целый ряд ограничений, присущих самим инструментам оценки личности, т. е. опросникам.

Проблема номер один заключается в том, что умные кандидаты используют всю свою смекалку и интуицию для того, чтобы выбрать именно те характеристики, которые они считают релевантными в конкретной ситуации (4). В нашем случае речь идет не о студентах-выпускниках, а об опытных руководителях, хорошо понимающих, что работает в том или ином бизнесе. Уязвимость к ложным ответам всегда считалась ахиллесовой пятой личностных опросников. Существует множество доказательств того, что значительная часть оцениваемых дает «правильные» ответы во время заполнения (5). Но даже если социально желаемые ответы не влияют критически на валидность, они ставят под сомнение эффективность процесса отбора. Ведь получается, что те кандидаты, которые честно отвечают на все вопросы, находятся в менее выгодном положении в сравнении с теми, кто готов манипулировать фактами.

Что же до шкал согласованности и социальной желаемости, то они призваны указывать на согласованность (последовательность) ответов респондентов и, в теории, защищать опросник от манипуляций респондентов. Но работают ли они? Согласно самим разработчикам, «высокие показатели по шкале «Социальная желаемость» вызывают настороженность» (6), однако существует целый ряд факторов помимо попыток манипулирования результатами, которые оказывают влияние на результаты этих шкал: самокритичность / аналитичность, самооценка, уровень конформизма, мотивация к заполнению опросника, понятность формулировок и т. д. Так что каких-либо точных гарантий они не дают.

Есть еще один фактор, о котором стоит задуматься. Это время. Дело в том, что большинство существующих на сегодняшний день методик (15FQ, 16PF, Dimensions, DISC, Hogan, NEO, OPQ, PAPI и т. п.), являясь в различной мере производными от «большой пятерки», опираются на гипотезы и знания о лидерстве, которые были актуальными в далеких уже 70-х и 80-х годах. Как вы считаете, сильно ли изменилось представление о самом лидерстве с того времени? Как сильно изменились требования к лидерам и бизнесу? Ответы на эти вопросы очевидны.

Что делать

Целью этой статьи ни в коем случае не является призыв к отказу от психометрической оценки. Для определенного уровня сотрудников психометрика является оптимальным методом по соотношению «цена – качество – скорость». Более того, в массовой оценке персонала (в особенности на начальные позиции) возможность заранее определить людей, склонных к тому или иному стилю поведения, будет весьма полезной. А естественные недостатки валидности могут быть не так критичны при больших объемах оценки. При этом увлечение психометрическими инструментами для руководителей высшего звена может дать значительную погрешность, что заставляет обязательно перепроверять результаты другими, более валидными и затратными методами исследования.

Будущее в психометрической оценке топов – не в упрощении и унификации, а в измерении динамических характеристик и их влияния на формирование, расцвет и угасание лидерства. А для этого стоит начать с принятия двух простых утверждений:

1) Любая личность может реализовать себя как лидера. В подтверждение этого достаточно проанализировать примеры успешных лидеров последних трех десятилетий. Среди них будут и скромные интроверты, и гипертревожные трудоголики, и даже социопаты. Сложно представить, как личностный опросник помог бы найти следующего Билла Гейтса (Microsoft), Илона Маска (Tesla) или Эла Данлэпа (Sunbeam).

2) Различные типы личности будут эффективны в различных лидерских контекстах. Составление единого (глобального) лидерского индекса или портрета невозможно, как невозможна унификация лидерских задач, бизнес-стратегий и организационных контекстов, в которых будет существовать лидер. Достаточные способности, доброжелательность и добросовестность всего лишь укажут на более простую интеграцию человека в корпоративной среде, но никак не смогут определить его лидерскую эффективность в каком-либо из возможных сценариев.

С чего начать

Позволю себе несколько простых рекомендаций для тех, кто намерен использовать личностные опросники в оценке руководителей:

  • начните с результатов и постепенно двигайтесь к оценке. Конечно, можно выпустить стрелу, а затем уже обвести место попадания. Но так вы не научитесь метко стрелять. Когда вы точно знаете, куда целите, точность возрастает. Поэтому важно очень четко определить цели оценки и то, как они связаны с вопросами, на которые вам впоследствии придется ответить (наем, замена, повышение, обучение и т. д.). Хорошо проанализируйте, какие предикторы будут более важны для различных лидерских сценариев в вашем организационном контексте;
  • требуйте максимальной конкретики. Не увлекайтесь универсальными моделями и глобальными выборками. Задавайте конкретные вопросы, изучайте конкретные характеристики, которые важны для вашей оценки, и выбирайте те инструменты, которые лучше всего подходят под ваши задачи. Будьте максимально критичными в выборе;
  • грамотно интегрируйте результаты. Собрать информацию несложно. А вот интегрировать данные из различных источников – задача уже не такая простая. Точность оценки значительно возрастает, если вы хорошо понимаете ограничения каждого из используемых методов оценки. Чтобы это увидеть, необходимо смотреть не на баллы, а сквозь них, проникать в суть оценок.
  • В следующих статьях мы поговорим о других инструментах оценки руководителей: бизнес-симуляциях, центрах оценки и интервью.

Если у вас остались вопросы, вы можете задать их мне по почте: d.zhukov@wardhowell.com.

Использованные источники:

1. Джадж Т. и др. «Личность и лидерство: количественный и качественный обзоры», Журнал прикладной психологии – 2002;

2. http://www.people.vcu.edu/~mamcdani/Publications/Kepes,%20McDaniel%20&%20Banks%20(2011,%20April).pdf.

3. Шмидт Ф. и др. «Практическое влияние личности и общих ментальных способностей на эффективность работы и обучения», Психология управления персоналом – 2008.

4. http://www.amazureconsulting.com/new-thinking/articles/.

5. Россе Дж. «Влияние искажения ответов в процессе тестирования личности при принятии решений о найме», Журнал прикладной психологии – 1998.

6. Описание шкал OPQ32, SHL Group LTD.