Effective Interviewing: How to Appoint the Best Manager

What are the most effective interviewing tools for appointing a top manager? Managing Partner Ella Sytnik and Senior Partner Sergey Vorobiev talk about how Ward Howell helps its clients tackle this question.

Not long ago, Peter, the vice president of a major company, invited us to have a conversation, but with the disclaimer that while the topic of conversation would be related to attracting people to a company, it would be atypical. When we met, Peter explained what was troubling him.

From the moment it was founded and over the last five years, the organization developed quickly, setting ambitious goals for itself and unquestionably outperforming its competitors. “We wanted serious results, and quickly, and in order to get them, we sought out the best professionals on the market, ones that were ready to fight,” said Peter. “First and foremost, we looked at professional skills; decisions on key positions were made quickly by the president and me, and we quickly got used to parting ways with people if something just didn’t fit. Today, we’re a leading business, are not growing as quickly as before, and have a lot of managers; the hiring process is being done mostly by mangers, but we’re not getting the results that we want. In other words, we’re started to hire people worse and slower.”

In the process of the conversation we came to the conclusion that there are several possible reasons for the ineffective manager recruitment process. Firstly, the directors involved in the hiring process did not have the knowledge or logistics to be conducting interviews. Secondly, company leaders often consider the hiring process, including that for hiring key managers, as of secondary importance, “the necessary evil of spending important business time on non-operational issues.” So what do you do? We decided to hold a training for the company’s top 10 managers, including the CEO. Peter stressed that it was important not only to teach people best practices for interviewing candidates for managerial positions, but also to explain how best to make decisions and change the top managers’ attitude toward evaluating and choosing candidates.

This task piqued our interest. Choosing the right employee, and more so the right manager, is a key process. Any mistake in hiring can be costly, not least due to wasted time on expensive people. Organizational development slows by at least half a year – which is about the amount of time it takes to realize that a manager isn’t meeting expectations and find a replacement.

In 23 years of work, we have amassed a significant volume of academic knowledge and practical experience. It seemed timely and appropriate to share some relevant tools and technology with our client.

The dilemma we were faced with in preparing for this event was how to make it most compelling and useful, especially given that our contingent was comprised of experienced, authoritative and extremely busy managers. We chose a format for the session that combined the following elements:

– team analysis of problematic subjects;

– a list of best practices;

– skill training through practical work;

– development of a concrete plan for changing processes within the organization.

This is how the Effective Interviewing workshop was born.

System, structure and rules

The first thing the managers discovered about themselves in the session (all were members of the company’s executive board) is that despite the enormous amount of time each spent on formally interviewing candidates, they had almost nothing to show for it. Typically, after a series of interviews, none of those participating in the process had a clear impression of whether or not the person they interviewed would be a good fit for the position, nor could they even convey their opinions. Another interesting discovery was that the organizational values and skills that existed and had been developed by the team were not at all sewn into the recruitment process – that is, no one asked any questions about skills or values in the interviews.

Recruiting processes lacking a well-defined structure and general rules is typical for many fast-growing companies in our market. The result of this is particularly felt by top managers, who feel that they are wasting their time and that no one cares about their opinion, which leads to apathy or an unwillingness to even take part in the recruiting process.

The interview continues to be the cornerstone of the process for choosing a candidate. At the same time, though, international research shows that the validity of the traditional interview does not exceed 35%. The only way to improve this statistic is to give the interview some structure. The structure should be replicable, which allows you to compare the results of different candidates’ interviews for the same position. Just like with Legos, the interview structure for various positions in different organizations should be based off of similar elements and have much in common, even though the effective interview structure will be tailored to a specific manager, organization and environment. During our workshop we explore the content of each element and help our clients develop the optimal placement interview structure for them.

It is also important for all members of the process to discuss rules and make decisions together so that the interview serves as a regulated tool, instead of having a deconstructive effect on the team, in which it becomes a source of doubt, emotional likes or dislikes, or lengthy and unending debate.

 

“Hired for hard, fired for soft”

A typical mistake made in the search and selection of candidates for management positions is the incorrect identification of requirements. Managers often employ a job description that lists only the hard skills – professional and technical characteristics – needed. In companies for which we have led our workshop, soft skill requirements had either not been identified at all, or had only been mentioned in general, meaningless phrases. Such neglect tends to become more costly the higher the position, because soft skills, such as emotional intellect and leadership quality, are critically important for climbing the career ladder. In the course of the workshop we show our clients how to properly allocate time and objectively evaluate personal qualities and assess values. 

Getting a handle on it

We all think that we’re well-versed in soccer, ballet, and raising children. Almost all of our clients are sure that they can interview someone and understand who they are in three minutes. However, our experience and many years of observation show that a manager needs significant practice and self-reflection in order to master the skill of formulating an objective judgment in a conversation with a candidate.

The competency interview is an important structure offered to us by our designer. Within the workshop, we acquaint participants with its essence and offer extensive practice in formulating and expressing necessary competencies for a concrete position. 

Both sides of the coin

Ray Kroc, founder of the fast food chain McDonald’s, said “You are only as good as the people you hire.” In our workshop, we give our participants the chance to examine this phrase from both sides: on the one hand, the best indicator of recruiting effectiveness is the ability of a team of interviewers to draw out all of the necessary competencies in the interview and come to the right conclusion about a person. On the other hand, the readiness of the best talent on the market to work at your company is an indicator that the company has positioned itself the right way, as a strong brand. How employees of a company interview impacts this positioning.

During one of our workshops, members of a leading industrial company’s executive board identified the interview as one of the most important channels of communication with the outside world. Even little things, such as an interviewer running late, can have a long-term negative impact on the employer’s brand.

Having an open conversation on how the company should be perceived by external candidates and why the best people should want to work specifically for that organization is also a necessary step in creating a recruitment strategy. In the course of our workshop, we dedicate significant attention to developing a unique value proposition.

Not just an interview

It is absolutely necessary to confirm the hypothesis you formulated in the course of an interview through several recommendations or an additional third party assessment of the candidate.

A recommendation from a colleague or a contractor is one of the most relevant sources of information about an applicant for a position. However, recommenders are also living people – their answers can vary. It is for this reason that within the workshop we teach managers how to attain the most useful information when gathering feedback.

An executive assessment is another useful tool for verifying interviewers’ hypotheses. For more on this process, see our article “Executive Assessment: Ward Howell's approach.”

Chain reaction

Typically, following our workshop our clients adopt and integrate the following into their recruitment process:

  • Key principles on positioning an organization – that is, how an organization can win over the best candidates;
  • Small applied hints that help increase the interview’s manufacturability and, therefore, its validity;
  • A methodology for collective interviewing and rules for making decisions.

Within our Effective Interviewing workshop, we offer managers the opportunity to dig deep into the critically important topic of attracting talent. This inevitably leads to the participants finding a new identity for themselves within the recruiting process and changing their attitude toward their role in creating a team.

Эффективное интервью: как нанять лучшего руководителя

Как сделать интервью эффективным инструментом для принятия решения о найме топ-менеджера? О том, как Ward Howell помогает своим клиентам решить эту задачу, читайте в статье Управляющего Партнера Эллы Сытник и Старшего Партнера Сергея Воробьева

Некоторое время назад вице-президент крупной компании Петр пригласил нас для разговора, предупредив, что тема будет нестандартная, хотя и связанная с привлечением людей в компанию. Когда мы встретились, Петр объяснил, что его тревожит.

С момента своего основания и на протяжении последних пяти лет организация быстро развивалась, ставя перед собой амбициозные цели и уверенно обгоняя конкурентов. «Мы хотели серьезных результатов и быстро и, чтобы добиться их, стремились набирать с рынка лучших профессионалов, уже готовых к «борьбе», – говорил Петр. – В первую очередь смотрели на профессиональные характеристики, решения о найме по ключевым позициям мы принимали быстро вдвоем с президентом и так же быстро привыкли расставаться с людьми, если что-то идет не так. Сегодня мы крупный бизнес, мы уже больше не растем так же быстро, как раньше, появилось много менеджеров, процессом найма занимается все больше руководителей, но мы не получаем того результата, который хотим. Иными словами, мы стали нанимать людей хуже и медленнее».

В процессе разговора мы пришли к выводу, что возможны несколько причин сбоя в существующем процессе привлечения руководителей. Во-первых, директорам, вовлеченным в наем, не хватает знаний и технологии проведения собеседования. Во-вторых, ведущие люди компании могут относиться к процессу найма, в том числе найма ключевых руководителей, как к чему-то вторичному, «неизбежной необходимости потратить важное для бизнеса время на неоперационный вопрос». Что делать? Мы решили провести обучающее мероприятие для 10 высших руководителей компании, включая генерального директора. Петр подчеркнул, что важно не только дать людям лучшие практики проведения интервью с кандидатами на руководящие позиции, но и разобраться в том, как принимаются решения, и попробовать изменить отношение топ-менеджеров к теме оценки и выбора кандидатов.

Эта задача показалась нам очень интересной. Выбор «правильного» сотрудника, а тем более «правильного» руководителя является ключевым процессом. Любая ошибка при приеме на работу обходится дорого – и не только потому, что на выбор потрачено время дорогостоящих людей. Развитие организации замедляется как минимум на полгода – то есть на то время, которое потребуется для того, чтобы понять, что руководитель не справляется со своими обязанностями, и найти ему замену.

За 23 года работы мы накопили значительный объем как предметных академических знаний, так и практического опыта и идея поделиться с клиентом релевантными инструментами и технологиями показалась очень своевременной и правильной.

Дилемма, с которой мы столкнулись при подготовке, – как сделать мероприятие максимально убедительным и полезным, ведь наш контингент – это опытные, авторитетные и крайне занятые руководители. Мы выбрали формат сессии, в которой сочетались следующие элементы:

– командный анализ проблемных тем;

– донесение лучших практик;

– обучение навыкам через практическую работу;

– выработка конкретного плана по изменению процессов внутри организации.

Так родился воркшоп «Эффективное интервью».

Система, структура и правила

Первое открытие, которое сделали для себя руководители во время сессии (все они являлись членами правления компании), – несмотря на то, что формально на интервьюирование кандидатов каждый из них затрачивал огромное количество времени, результат оказывался почти нулевым. Как правило, после серии интервью ни у кого из участников процесса не формировалось сколь-нибудь четкого ощущения, подходит ли этот человек на позицию, и мало кто мог рационально обосновать свое мнение. Интересным было и то, что формально существующие и разделяемые командой организационные ценности и компетенции вообще никак не были «вшиты» в процесс найма, то есть в ходе интервью никаких вопросов вокруг компетенций и ценностей кандидатам никто не задавал.

Ситуация, когда процесс найма не имеет упорядоченной структуры и не подчиняется общим правилам, характерна для многих быстро растущих компаний на нашем рынке. Результатом часто является ощущение топ-менеджеров, что они бессмысленно тратят время, что их мнение никого не интересует, и это приводит к апатии либо вообще нежеланию участвовать в процессе найма.

Интервью до сих пор является краеугольным камнем процесса под названием «выбор кандидата». Одновременно с этим международные исследования показывают, что валидность традиционного интервью не превышает 35%. Единственный способ, позволяющий улучшить этот показатель, – это придать интервью структуру. Структура должна быть воспроизводимой, что позволит сравнивать результат интервьюирования разных кандидатов на одну и ту же позицию. По аналогии с конструктором Lego структура интервью на различные позиции в разных организациях, скорее всего, будет состоять из похожих элементов и иметь много общего, однако эффективная структура интервью будет «заточена» под конкретного руководителя, организацию и обстоятельства. В ходе нашего воркшопа мы раскрываем содержание каждого элемента и помогаем клиенту определить оптимальную для него структуру проведения собеседования.

Также важно иметь правила обсуждения и принятия решений, разделяемые всеми участниками процесса. Иначе вместо того, чтобы служить инструментом упорядочивания, интервью будет иметь деструктивный эффект для работы команды и станет источником сомнений, эмоциональных симпатий или антипатий, длительных и безрезультатных обсуждений.

«Нанимают за хард, увольняют за софт»

Типичная ошибка при поиске и отборе кандидатов на руководящие позиции – это некорректно сформулированные требования. При подборе руководителей часто используются должностные инструкции, которые описывают только hard skills – профессиональные и технические характеристики. В компаниях, для которых мы проводили воркшоп, требования к soft skills либо не были сформулированы вообще, либо были описаны общими, ничего не значащими фразами. Это упущение обходится тем дороже, чем выше уровень позиции, так как при продвижении вверх по карьерной лестнице важными становятся именно soft skills, например эмоциональный интеллект и лидерские качества. В ходе воркшопа мы показываем нашим клиентам, как правильно распределить время и объективно оценить личностные качества и проанализировать ценности.

Набить руку

Нам всем кажется, что мы разбираемся в футболе, балете и воспитании детей. Почти все наши клиенты убеждены, что могут хорошо проинтервьюировать человека и понять, кто чего стоит, «за три минуты». Однако наш опыт и многолетние наблюдения подсказывают, что руководителю требуются значительные практика и саморефлексия, чтобы овладеть навыками формирования объективных суждений в ходе беседы с кандидатом.

Важным кубиком предлагаемого нами конструктора является интервью по компетенциям. В ходе воркшопа мы знакомим участников с сутью этого понятия и даем обширную практику для формулирования и выявления необходимых для конкретной позиции компетенций.  

Две стороны медали

Основатель сети фастфуда McDonald’s Рэй Крок сказал: «You are only as good as people you hire» («Вы настолько хороши, как хороши люди, которых вы нанимаете»). В ходе воркшопа мы даем возможность его участникам взглянуть на эту фразу с двух ракурсов: с одной стороны, лучший показатель эффективности работы функции найма – это способность команды интервьюеров «выловить» все нужные компании компетенции на интервью и сделать «правильный» вывод о человеке. С другой – готовность лучших талантов на рынке работать именно в вашей компании – это индикатор правильного позиционирования организации как сильного бренда. То, как сотрудники компании проводят интервью, в том числе влияет на это позиционирование.

Члены правления крупной индустриальной компании в ходе нашего воркшопа обозначили интервью как один из важных каналов коммуникаций с внешним миром. Даже такие простые вещи, как опоздание интервьюера, могут иметь длительное негативное влияние на бренд работодателя.

Открытый разговор о том, как компания должна восприниматься внешними кандидатами и почему лучшие люди должны идти работать именно в эту организацию, также является необходимым этапом в формировании стратегии найма. В ходе воркшопа мы уделяем серьезное внимание выработке уникального ценностного предложения.

Не только интервью

Гипотезы, сформулированные вами в ходе собеседования, обязательно нужно верифицировать – через сбор рекомендаций либо через дополнительную оценку кандидата (assessment), которую выполняет третья сторона.

Рекомендации коллег и контрагентов являются одним из наиболее релевантных источников информации о претенденте на позицию. Но рекомендатели – живые люди, и их ответы будут очень разными, поэтому в рамках воркшопа мы учим руководителей, как получить максимум полезной информации при сборе отзывов.

Executive assessment является еще одним полезным инструментом для верификации предположений интервьюеров. Подробнее об этом процессе вы можете прочитать в статье «Executive Assessment: подход Ward Howell к оценке руководителей».

Цепная реакция

Как правило, по итогам воркшопа наши клиенты принимают и интегрируют в процесс найма:

  • ключевые принципы позиционирования организации, то есть то, за счет чего организация должна «выигрывать» лучших кандидатов;
  • краткие прикладные подсказки, позволяющие повысить технологичность, а значит, валидность интервью;
  • методологию коллективного интервьюирования и правила принятия решения.

В ходе воркшопа «Эффективное интервью» мы обеспечиваем глубокое погружение руководителей в важнейшую тему «Привлечение талантов». Это неизбежно приводит к новой самоидентификации участников процесса найма и изменению их отношения к своей роли в формировании команды.