Five books to turn you into a coach with perspective

We asked Ward Howell consultant Alexey Ulanovsky, well known for his impressive knowledge of current, international literature on coaching, to recommend a couple of books for our coaching consultant library. Below is the list of books Alexey recommends with his commentary.

A recommendation is always subjective. It is intricately intertwined with the values, background, and approach of the person making the recommendation. My recommendation is no exception. I am deeply certain that coaching is a practice that demands a broad perspective and strong qualifications. It is for that reason that I think that my recommended book list include books from 1) the field of psychology, because any form of coaching requires working with a person and his internal composition, 2) the field of organizational leadership, because organizations and businesses are the playing fields of coaching, it is within them that coaches exist and recommend full-fledged changes in practice, 3) the history and principles of coaching, because it is important to understand our roots.

1. Martin Seligman’s book “Authentic Happiness” isn’t a textbook on psychology, but it is part of the new wave of psychology, which essentially focuses on the same things coaching does: strengths, well-being, flow (created by positive psychology), personal resources. The relationship between positive psychology and coaching is a mutual partnership, in which the first side examines what is “good” in a person and in organizations, and the second builds on this and tries to develop it. Seligman is one of the fathers of this research (the second is the widely known Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi). This book is not his most recent, but I recommend it for this list.

 

2. These days, many find themselves completely lost in a sea of books on leadership. If you don’t know where to start or what is worthy of your attention, start with Richard Daft’s book. It’s the best in its class – systematic, encyclopedia-like, practical, authoritative. It provides excellent context for understanding executive leadership and middle management – our direct clients in individual coaching. A deeper understanding of their circumstances, problems, needs, and relationships is critical to work in business coaching.

 

3. Otto Kernberg’s book is, in my opinion, one of the best books on leadership. It differs from his previous book in that it relies on the fairly distinctive, extremely interesting and in-depth psychodynamic or psychoanalytic (as known in the West) approach. He focuses on irrationality, the “underwater” currents in the life of an organization that aren’t always obvious to an organizational consultant, but that are seen in phenomena such as regressive processes in teams, the homogenization of opinions, the idealization of leaders, etc. The book is difficult to read in certain places, because it is written for an audience well-versed in psychoanalytical terminology, but is still possible to understand with a little perseverance and desire.

 

4. A classic of the genre. The book of Timothy Gallwey, the founding father of coaching, was first published in 1974 and has since then become a bestseller. The book reveals his concept of the two “I”s, which are constantly challenging each other within the minds of athletes and every single one of us. However, Gallwey’s genius lies not as much in the actual concept but in his method of working with athletes, which was later crystallized into the “coaching” method. It includes nonviolent, spontaneous self-education, based on observation and imitation of the best examples of how to perform an action, working with an image of how this is done and trust in one’s own body.  

 

5. This book is well known to us. I included it in the list because it wonderfully captures the spirit and meaning of coaching through its orientation on positive, concrete results, the search for many different ways of reaching those results and the necessity of “grounded” client solutions based on when, what, and who. This is the book of John Whitmore, who brought to Europe Gallwey’s ideas on the inner game, and significantly influenced the formulation and dissemination of coaching in European countries, including Russia.

 

Alexey Ulanovsky is a consultant at Ward Howell who oversees leadership programs and development sessions for executives. He is also an associate professor at the Higher School of Economics.  

 

For more on this topic, read Coaching today: a tool for development, but not yet for management, about the 4th edition of Stanislav Shekshnia’s book How to Effectively Manage Free People: Coaching.

 

 

.     These days, many find themselves completely lost in a sea of books on leadership. If you don’t know where to start or what is worthy of your attention, start with Richard Daft’s book. It’s the best in its class – systematic, encyclopedia-like, practical, authoritative. It provides excellent context for understanding executive leadership and middle management – our direct clients in individual coaching. A deeper understanding of their circumstances, problems, needs, and relationships is critical to work in business coaching.

5 книг, которые сделают из вас коуча с кругозором

Мы попросили консультанта Ward Howell Алексея Улановского, известного своим блестящим знанием существующей иностранной литературы по коучингу, порекомендовать несколько книг для нашей «библиотеки коуча-консультанта». Ниже мы публикуем этот список с комментариями Алексея. 

Любые рекомендуемые списки субъективны. Они увязаны глубоко с ценностями, бэкграундом и подходом человека, составлявшего этот список. Не исключение и предлагаемый мною список. Я глубоко убежден, что коучинг – это практика, требующая от человека широкого кругозора и квалификации. Поэтому, на мой взгляд, здорово, если бы этот список содержал в себе что-то из 1) области психологии, потому что любой коучинг – это работа с человеком и его внутренним устройством, 2) области организационного лидерства, потому что организации и бизнес – это «дом бытия» коучинга, именно в них он состоялся и зарекомендовал себя как полноценная практика изменений, 3) истории и первооснов коучинга – потому что важно понимать откуда «ноги растут».

1. Книга Мартина Селигмана – не учебник по психологии, но одна из книг новой волны в психологии, занимающейся в сущности тем, чем занимается и коучинг: сильными сторонами, благополучием, потоком (позитивная психология его и «изобрела»), личностными ресурсами. Отношения позитивной психологии и коучинга –партнерские отношения, признанные с обоих сторон, где первая исследует «хорошее» в человеке и организациях, а второй – опирается на это и стремится это развивать. Селигман – один из отцов этой области исследований (вторым является широко известный у нас Михай Чиксентмихайи). Это не последняя его книга из вышедших и переведенных, но я рекомендую именно ее для этой рубрики. В оригинале она называется «Authentic happiness», что означает – «Аутентичное счастье».

 

2. Сегодня у многих – полная дезориентация в море книг по лидерству. Если не знаете с чего начать или что достойно – смело выбирайте книгу Ричарда Дафта. Считаю ее лучшей в своем классе – она систематична, энциклопедична, практична, авторитетна. Она задает отличный контекст понимания высшего руководства организаций и среднего менеджмента  – наших непосредственных клиентов в индивидуальном коучинге. Уверен, что лучшее понимание их обстоятельств, проблем, требований, отношений – необходимое условие работы в бизнес-коучинге.

 

3. Книга Отто Кернбернга – на мой взгляд, одна из наиболее сильных по лидерству. От предыдущей книги она отличается тем, что опирается на достаточно самобытный, но очень интересный и глубокий подход, который на Западе называют «психодинамическим» или «психоаналитическим». Он уделяет внимание иррациональным, «подводным» течениям в жизни организаций, не всегда заметным стороннему взгляду оргконсультанта, но раскрывающимся в таких феноменах как регрессивные процессы в командах, гомогенизация мнений, идеализация лидера и т.п. Книга местами сложна для чтения – потому что написана, очевидно, с учетом знания читателем терминологии психоанализа. Но при упорстве и желании – посильна.

 

4. Классика жанра. Книга праотца коучинга Тимоти Голви, впервые изданная в 1974 году и ставшая с тех пор бестселлером. В книге раскрывается его известная концепция о двух «я», беспрестанно борющихся в головах спортсменов и каждого из нас. Однако гений Голви не столько в этой концепции, сколько в самом методе его работы со спортсменами, который и кристаллизовался позднее в метод, названный «коучингом». Это метод ненасильственного спонтанного самообучения, основанного на наблюдении и подражании лучшим примерам исполнения действия, работе с образом желаемого и доверии своему телу. 

 

5. Ну а эта книга хорошо известна у нас. Я включил ее в список, потому что она действительно хорошо передает дух и смысл коучинга – с его ориентацией на позитивно сформулированный результат, поиск сразу множества путей его достижения и обязательное «заземление» решений клиента на линейке «когда», «что», «кто». Книга Джона Уитмора – человека, привезшего в Европу идею Голви о внутренней игре, внесшего весомый вклад в оформление и распространение коучинга в европейских странах, включая Россию.

 

Алексей Улановский – консультант Ward Howell, ведущий лидерских программ и развивающих сессий для руководителей, доцент Высшей школы экономики

Читайте также по теме: "Коучинг сегодня: инструмент развития, но еще не инструмент управления" про 4-е переиздание книги Станислава Шекшни "Как управлять свободными людьми: Коучинг"